top of page
Violin Shop
Sheet Music

About the Visual & Performing Arts Magnet Program

IMG_1735.png

The Visual & Performing Arts Magnet Program of Dr. Phillips High School is proud to receive the Magnet Schools of America "Program of Excellence" Award for the 2023-2024 school year!

According to the School Choice Department of Orange County Public Schools:

"The Visual and Performing Arts Magnet (VPA) offers programs in Dance, Music, Television Production, Theatre, and Visual Art. With a strong emphasis on college preparation, students develop the skills and knowledge required to excel in their creative and academic future. VPA students have many opportunities to share their art, from monthly department recitals to performances and exhibitions throughout the community. In addition, students have the opportunity to learn from and perform for visiting guest artists."

 

The mission & vision of the VPA Magnet program is described thusly from our school website:

 "Our mission is to provide high quality, innovative performing and visual arts instruction that is designed to meet the unique needs of artistically gifted and talented students. It is our vision that students participating in this dynamic, autonomous, and student-centered model will graduate with the exemplary academic foundation necessary for success in higher education and future careers in the fine arts."

Our Visual & Performing Arts Magnet Faculty

(Performing Arts-Music only)

MAGNET DIRECTOR:

Ms. Nicole Nasrallah- nicole.nasrallah@ocps.net

ORCHESTRA:

Ms. Raine Hollingsworth, Director- email address

Keyboard I

Sinfonia Orchestra

Philharmonia Orchestra

Chamber Orchestra

Premiere Orchestra

BAND:

Mr. Charles Watford, Director- charles.watford@ocps.net

Symphonic Band, Wind Ensemble, AP Music Theory

Mr. Matt Malhiot, Associate Director- matthew.malhiot@ocps.net

Symphonic Band, Electronic Music I-IV, Jazz Band, Tri-M Music Honor Society Sponsor

Ms. Sarah Lightbody- sarah.lightbody@ocps.net

CHORUS:

Ms. Solangi Santiago, Associate Director- solangi.santiago@ocps.net

Music Theory I

Mr. Patrick Waters, Director- patrick.waters@ocps.net

Music History

Chorus Ensembles (taught by both directors):

9-10 Beginning Treble Choir

11-12 Beginning Treble Choir

Tenor-Bass Choir

Select Treble Choir

Mixed Choir

KEYBOARD:

Mr. Jeff Brown, Instructor- jeff.brown@ocps.net

Keyboard I

Mrs. Jane Moore, Instructor- jane.moore@ocps.net

Keyboard I-IV

bottom of page